My writing process.

Lynda Stacey invited me to contribute to this blog tour where writers share their process. Lynda is a member of the RNA’s New Writers’ Scheme and is busy polishing novels to submit for publication. She was shortlisted for the Festival of Romance New Talent Award in 2013. Her blog can be found at http://lyndastacey2912.wordpress.com
To follow Lynda via Twitter search for @Lyndastacey or on Facebook as Lynda Stacey.

1) What am I working on?

I like to have a variety of projects on the go at once. It gives me a feeling of security and it means that there’s always the next thing to focus on while I send things out. It also means that if I get stuck with one thing I can turn my attention to another while things carry on churning around in the back of my mind. So at the moment I’m working on a short story for a Christmas anthology and a short novella called ‘Trusting Marshall’ which is a romantic suspense with a hard edge.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I’m not sure that it does differ in any exceptional way. Hopefully I bring my own writing voice to it, so it should be fairly unique in that way. I like to write stories with a dark edge and I try and pack them full of emotion. I love reading books that give me a roller-coaster, emotional ride and make me cry so those are the type that I try and write too.

3) Why do I write what I do?

I write romance because I love reading this genre. As I’ve got older my taste has narrowed down and I find that romance gives me an intense bite of emotion while not being too taxing. I love the security of knowing the ending is a guaranteed HEA and there’s something quite life confirming about reading about a couple coming together after trials and tribulations and also watching their emotional growth and development throughout the story. When this is done well it really does make for exceptional reading and this is what I’d like to write successfully.

4) How does your writing process work?

I have always been a bit of a pantser, flying by the seat of my pants but I’m trying to be a bit more of a planner because I can get a bit lost in the writing of my books. I’ve not yet graduated to all those wonderful plans you see authors do with loads of colourful sticky notes detailing all sorts of things. I’m working towards it though. Mostly my stories start with seeing something or getting some sort of prompt and then I ask myself, ‘What if?’ What if this happened? What if that happened? Then I slowly build it out from that point, so they aren’t usually written in a linear way (or haven’t been so far).

So that’s a bit about me and how I write. 🙂

Leave a Reply

