January Monthly Medley

I’ve been enjoying rooting through my keeper shelf prior to packing it up to move to my new home. Although I give my keeper shelf books regular airings it’s still nice to go through them one-by-one and fondle them and browse through all the best bits. So here are my keeper shelf recommendations for January.

A totMoonspinners_smallal classic, Moonspinners by Mary Stewart is a winner. First of all she captures the atmosphere and the countryside of Greece so well, that you could almost be there. I love the characters, the suspense- in general everything. Her stories are also full of nostalgia for me because they were among some of the early romances I read when I was about 14 and living in Greece.

My next recommendation is Slightly Tempted by Mary Balogh. Although this is number six in the Bedwyn series, it stands alone quite comfortably.Slightly_tempted_small

The classic sort of story where the hero sets out to seduce the heroine for revenge is soon flipped when the heroine sets out to punish the hero for his behaviour. She does it so well that I never get tired of reading their story.

My next recommendation is for those of you interested in writing romance is Katekate walker_small Walker’s 12 Point Guide to Writing Romance. For anyone setting out to write romance it’s a valuable head start that I wish had been about when I started writing. It would have saved me a lot of grief.

 

Finally I bring you Warprize, the first in a fantasy trilogy by Elizabeth Vaughan. Her excellent writing frames a story that is primarily about a clash between two cultures when a princess is given as tribute to a Warlord. I loved the characters and the plot but what really blows me away is the detailed and realistic world she creates. Awesome!warprize small

Leave a Reply

